The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards Winners Are In

Khaite, SKIMS, LUAR, and more took home awards.

Originally Published: 
Hanna Tveite
Khaite Spring/Summer 2023 runway show

The Council of Fashion Designers of America finally revealed the winners of its 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards. The ceremony, which was presented in partnership with Amazon Fashion, took place on Monday, Nov. 7 at Casa Cipriani in New York City. What’s more, the annual event celebrated its 60th anniversary this year, so to honor this milestone, the committee invited CFDA members Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, Lazaro Hernandez, and Jack McCollough to co-host the ceremony, making it feel extra special.

While a number of the night’s honorees had been revealed ahead of time in September 2022, the winners for the four major categories — womenswear, menswear, accessory, and emerging designers of the year — were announced live at the event. For starters, Bode’s Founder Emily Adams Bode Aujla took home the Menswear Designer of the Year award for the second year in a row. LUAR’s Raul Lopez had a special moment at the ceremony, too: He was nominated for — and captured — the American Accessory Designer of the Year award for the very first time. (His label is known for its coveted handbags with oversized handles.) Meanwhile, Khaite’s Catherine Holstein and Elena Velez took home the American Womenswear and American Emerging Designer of the Year awards, respectively.

The Council added several new titles to the lineup, too — including a one-time Special Anniversary Award that went to designer and longtime CFDA member Jeffrey Banks. The committee also introduced a Stylist Award, with Law Roach (who works with the likes of Zendaya, Kerry Washington, and Emma Watson) as its first recipient, while Kim Kardashian took home the inaugural Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion for SKIMS. Last but not least, Shannon Abloh accepted the posthumous Board of Trustee’s Award on behalf of her late husband, Virgil Abloh.

Scroll down to see the full list of winners at the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards, ahead.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode Aujla for Bode

American Accessory Designer of the Year

Raul Lopez for LUAR

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Elena Velez

Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion


The Board of Trustee’s Award

Virgil Abloh

CFDA’s 2022 Fashion Icon

Lenny Kravitz

The Positive Social Influence Award

Slaysians from the House of Slay, featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert

Andrew Bolton, the Wendy Yu Curator in Charge at The Costume Institute at The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Patti Wilson

The Environmental Sustainability Award

The United Nations (to be accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General)

The Stylist Award

Law Roach

The Special Anniversary Award

Jeffrey Banks

This article was originally published on